Emsworth Chess Club Championship 2014-2015

Scoring an average of 42.4 above grade over his best 5 results,
Darren Cook is declared Emsworth Chess Club 2014-2015 Champion.


Grading Points
NoPlayerGrade Game Total
(5 Games)
12345 678910 1112
1Zoltan Zagonyi11865108128128 4294294107.3-10.89
2Paul Northcott115118168128105105105 7296246124.89.87
3David Jerome7865168681686850205020686868 88154012108.030.02
4Dominic Tunks197227207207212212207227207207 191310859217.020.03
5Steve Barron706060605050606060128128 7164361087.217.24
6Kier Eyles162172146147127172 7657655153.0-9.08
7Paul Cooper177187146212187147187187 12549607192.015.05
8Derek Shotton118115128281285050 527471794.2-23.810
9Nitin Parekh120130 1301301130.010.06
10Darren Cook10012012012816812816890 9227127142.442.41


 White BlackDateResult
1 Steve Barron v Paul Cooper 11/09/2014 0-1
2 Paul Northcott v Derek Shotton 11/09/2014 ½-½
3 Zoltan Zagonyi v Paul Northcott 18/09/2014 0-1
4 Steve Barron v Derek Shotton 18/09/2014 0-1
5 Dominic Tunks v Paul Cooper 25/09/2014 1-0
6 Zoltan Zagonyi v Kier Eyles 25/09/2014 0-1
7 Dominic Tunks v Steve Barron 02/10/2014 1-0
8 David Jerome v Paul Northcott 16/10/2014 0-1
9 David Jerome v Derek Shotton 23/10/2014 1-0
10 Paul Northcott v Dominic Tunks 23/10/2014 0-1
11 Kier Eyles v Dominic Tunks 30/10/2014 0-1
12 Dominic Tunks v Kier Eyles 21/05/2015 1-0
13 David Jerome v Zoltan Zagonyi 21/05/2015 0-1
14 Derek Shotton v David Jerome 28/05/2015 0-1
15 Steve Barron v Darren Cook 28/05/2015 0-1
16 Darren Cook v Steve Barron 28/05/2015 1-0
17 Zoltan Zagonyi v David Jerome 04/06/2015 1-0
18 Derek Shotton v Steve Barron 04/06/2015 1-0
19 Kier Eyles v Paul Cooper 04/06/2015 0-1
20 David Jerome v Darren Cook 11/06/2015 0-1
21 Steve Barron v Dominic Tunks 11/06/2015 0-1
22 Paul Cooper v Steve Barron 18/06/2015 1-0
23 Darren Cook v Derek Shotton 18/06/2015 1-0
24 Paul Cooper v Dominic Tunks 25/06/2015 0-1
25 David Jerome v Steve Barron 25/06/2015 0-1
26 Darren Cook v David Jerome 02/07/2015 1-0
27 Steve Barron v David Jerome 09/07/2015 1-0
28 Derek Shotton v Darren Cook 09/07/2015 0-1
29 Dominic Tunks v Darren Cook 09/07/2015 1-0
30 David Jerome v Nitin Parekh 03/08/2015 0-1
31 Dominic Tunks v David Jerome 06/08/2015 1-0
32 Paul Cooper v Paul Northcott 06/08/2015 1-0
33 David Jerome v Kier Eyles 06/08/2015 0-1
34 Paul Northcott v Paul Cooper 11/08/2015 0-1


1. Summary

Each Player can play every other player up to two times (white & black if two games played).

The Games have been randomly sorted (in the games & results table) but can be played in any order.

Each player must play a minimum of 5 games or will not be placed at the end of the tournament.

The tournament finishes the week before the 2015 AGM.

Games do NOT have to be played. Any player can refuse any match.

The winner will be the player who returns the best grading performance compared with their tournament grade over their best 5 games.

2. Colours

When two players face each other for the first time (in this tournament), colours should be drawn.

If the players play again in this tournament then colours will be reversed.

3. Time Limit of Games

30 moves in 75 minutes.

24 moves in subsequent hours (adjournments after 3 hours play)

or Quick Play Finish (if agreed by both players at the start of the session).

Adjournments to be played within 21 days of original date (each adjourned session should be at least 2½ hours long).

4. How placings will be decided

The Winner will be judged on each player's increase or decrease in grading performance compared to their tournament grade over their best 5 games

A player's tournament grade will be taken as their July 2014 grade. Ungraded players will be allocated an estimated grade (as at the time they joined the tournament).

Players will be allocated grading points for each match they play. Points will be calculated in line with ECF grade calculations (See 6 below).

Each player's total grading points will be divided by the number of games played to reach his "grading performance".

Once a player has played more than 5 games then just his best 5 grading scores will be taken and divided by 5 to reach his "grading performance".

The player's tournament grade will be taken from their "grading performance" to arrive at each player's "Current Score".

Each player's "Current Score can be positive or negative

The player with the highest "Current Score" will be judged the winner provided that they have played at least 5 games.

5. Tie Breaking

In the event of players on the same score the following will be used for tie breaking (in this order):

The player who has played the most games.

The player who has the best result (judged on the same basis as the tournament) in the games that did not count (the games over 5 that were discarded).

The players' results against one another (the players involved in the tie).

6. ECF Grade Calculations

All games will be sent to the ECF for grading.

ECF grade calculations apply in deciding the tournament winner (see section 4 above).

Extracts from ECF Grade Calculation:

Points are allocated in respect of each game. For a win you score the opponent's grade plus 50, for a draw the opponent's grade and for a loss the opponent's grade minus 50. "Grade" means his grade current at the time of grading.

There is a proviso that if your opponent's grade differs from yours by more than 40 points it is assumed to be exactly 40 above (or below) yours. This applies whatever the result.

The grade is calculated by dividing the total number of points scored by the number of games played.

7. The Controller

In the event of any disputes, the Controller's decision is final.

Tournament Controller: Paul Cooper.

8. Fees

Fees: ECF Members Free - Non ECF Members - £2.50 per game.